AFUZE – EMAI – Ahead of the forthcoming local government elections in Edo State, the Action Congress of Nigeria ( A C N), Owan East chapter has, in the spirit of zoning, zoned the chairmanship of the local government to axis 2.

Rising from a well – attended meeting of elders of the party at the weekend, the Leadership Forum of the A C N said it was in keeping with the laid down principle of zoning elective offices that the party decided to zone the chairmanship slot of the local government to axis 2.

Axis 2 of Owan East Local Government Area include wards 5, 6,7,8 and 9.

According to the chairman of the Forum, Sir (Barr.) Philip Edorhe, in whose residence the meeting was held, “the forum’s decision is to ensure that the party kept faith with the zoning principle which had been applied in other previous elective positions into the council.”

He added that the essence of zoning offices to axis, was to ensure equitable representations and opportunity to all the 11 wards of the local government to aspire to the chairmanship position and other positions in the council.

Sir Edorhe disclosed that while the state and national assemblies slots were zoned to axis 1 and axis 2 respectively, and the present transition committee chairman coming from ward 11 in axis 1, “it is only proper and fair to zone the chairmanship seat to axis 2 ahead of the forthcoming local government election”, he explained.

He called on members of the party in the local government to rally round any candidate that eventually emerges as the consensus candidate to fly the party’s flag from axis 2, because according to him, “A C N must replicate the July 14 victory of the party at the local government when the elections are eventually held.”

Present at the meeting of the forum were leaders from across the 11 wards including Chief Roland Edeki, local government party chairman, Sir Raphael Arunah, Secretary, A C N, Edo North leadership forum; Hon. Abdul Oroh, Commissioner for Agriculture;, Barr. Wilson Osigwe, Hajia Zenatu Shaka, woman leader, Alhaji Yahaya Momoh, local government vice-chairman of A C N and Tunde Eseigbe, A C N secretary.

Others are Dr. Oba Ilevbare and Hon. Abdulrahaman Momoh former council chairman and a host of others.

Views: 269

© 2021   Created by Otedo News Update.   Powered by

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service


Local And International News Outlets
OTEDO.COM New Nigerian Newspaper Los Angeles Times Leadership Newspaper Thisday Vanguard Newspaper 234Next Daily Champion MTN Football Chicago Inquirer PM News National Daily NigeriaHealthWatch News Star Newspaper Desert Herald Sahara Reporters Associated Press Nigeria Liberty Forum,UK AFP Online BBC Nigerian Village Square Telegraph Newspaper Nigerian News Service Newswatch The Guardian Punch Daily Independent Nigerian Tribune The Nation The Sun Coastalnews NewsDiary Online Daily Trust Compass Newspaper CNN SKY Sports Yahoo! News KickOff Nigeria CNET News Reuters United Press International