Football | Nigeria at 50

Nigeria Legend Nwankwo Kanu emerged tops in our six-month quest to find Nigeria’s 50 greatest players on

The search for Nigeria’s fifty greatest players of all time was always going to be an interesting exercise and a hugely daunting task, especially as the online generation is mostly handicapped by the absence of enduring footage of players from years gone by.

The international acclaim of great Nigerian teams from the USA 94 and France 98 Fifa World Cups and the 1996 Atlanta Olympics proved quite a strong influence in the voting, as did their exploits in Europe.

We did however get a great perspective on their preferences and to a great extent oral tradition played a huge part in some of the selections of the legends of folklore.

There were however so many great players who didn’t make the cut but again, it shows the quality of players that Nigeria has produced.

We have over the past few months produced articles, profiles and stories of greatness to remind people of some of these legends.

We now present you with the top 50 from our quest, which ran from October 1 2010 when Nigeria clocked 50 years as an independent country, to March 31 2011 when we closed voting.

Tell us who you think deserves to be there and why. In the end perhaps Kanu's string of International honours earned him top place ahead of the incomparable Austin "Jay-Jay" Okocha :

1. Nwankwo Kanu
2. Austin Okocha
3. Sunday Oliseh
4. Rashidi Yekini
5. Segun Odegbami
6. Stephen Keshi
7. Emmanuel Amuneke
8. Finidi George
9. Christian Chukwu
10. Muda lawal
11. Peter Rufai
12. Daniel Amokachi
13. Taribo West
14. Uche Okechukwu
15. Teslim “Thunder”Balogun
16. Victor Ikpeba
17. Samson Siasia
18. Adokiye Amiesimaka
19Vincent Enyeama
20. Celestine Babayaro
21. Thomson Usiyan
22. Taiye ‘Taiwo
23. Henry Nwosu
24. Emmanuel Okala
25. Felix Owolabi
26. Haruna Ilerika
27. Joseph Yobo
28. Aloysius Atuegbu
29. Richard Owubokiri
30. Elkanah Onyeali
31. Patrick Ekeji
32. Best Ogedengbe
33. Bright Omokaro
34. Peter Anieke
35. Yisa Shofoluwe
36. Ben Iroha
37. Julius Aghahowa
38. Osaze Odemwingie
39. Albert Onyeawuna
40. Augustine Eguavoen
41. Sam Okwaraji
42. Obafemi Martins
43. Yakubu Aiyegbeni
44. Tijani Babangida
45. Tony Igwe
46. John Obi Mikel
47. Sam Garba Okoye
48. Friday Okoh
49. Etim Esin
50. Dan Anyiam


Views: 99

Great Benin Bronze


© 2018   Created by Otedo News Update.   Powered by

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service

Local And International News Outlets
OTEDO.COM New Nigerian Newspaper Los Angeles Times Leadership Newspaper Thisday Vanguard Newspaper 234Next Daily Champion MTN Football Chicago Inquirer PM News National Daily NigeriaHealthWatch News Star Newspaper Desert Herald Sahara Reporters Associated Press Nigeria Liberty Forum,UK AFP Online BBC Nigerian Village Square Telegraph Newspaper Nigerian News Service Newswatch The Guardian Punch Daily Independent Nigerian Tribune The Nation The Sun Coastalnews NewsDiary Online Daily Trust Compass Newspaper CNN SKY Sports Yahoo! News KickOff Nigeria CNET News Reuters United Press International